Pylon – The Eternal Wedding Band

Pylon Eternal Wedding CD

Band:       Pÿlon                         Label:        Quam Libet Records(EU) Roxx Records(US)

Title:         The Eternal Wedding Band + Bonus       E-mail:

Style:        Doom metal                                         QLR-521601-2

Vocals:     Clean, Melodic                                           EAN:          642738911458

Release:  February 26, 2016                                       Format:    CD digipack, 18 tracks

In a certain way, Swiss doom metallers Pÿlon have always been about looking back – looking back in a ‘born too late’ fashion when it comes to the ground-breaking history of that heavy doom rock sound that was spearheaded by multi-faceted gloom overlords like Black Sabbath, Candlemass and Count Raven.

Ten years ago, Pÿlon released their sophomore album, Th’ Eternal Wedding Band on the band’s own label imprint. Long gone is the last copy of the original CD yet still new fans come a-knocking, hoping to be able to complete their collection of Pÿlon original releases. It is for them that Pÿlon and U.S. .label Roxx Records now re-release this first instalment of their early doom trilogy.

As a special added bonus to the new layout of this digipack edition, the band’s 2006 line-up briefly reformed to cut two tracks, the multi-facetted rocker “Of Sorrow & Doom” as well as the punky “Who Are They?”, both written but at the time not recorded for Th’ Eternal Wedding Band.

A work-in-progress rehearsal run-through of the album’s secret hit, “Falling Into The Sun”, showing an earlier stage of the song’s development, as well as two live recordings from one of the band’s handful of live appearances in its 14-year history round off this collection aimed both at the new listener as well as at experienced Pÿlon amateurs.

Th’ Eternal Wedding Band – 10th Anniversary Edition track listing:

  1. And Thus It Ends …
  2. Anaconda
  3. Falling Into The Sun
  4. Cannibal Coronal Mass Ejection (Part 1: The Black Sunrise; Part 2: Chaos Theory)
  5. A Walk Through Wonderland
  6. 2046
  7. The Cold Mirror
  8. Fields Of Sorrow
  9. In From The Futile Fields
  10. L’épée dans mon coeur
  11. Checkmate 64
  12. To My Brethren
  13. Dementia

Bonus Tracks:

  1. Of Sorrow & Doom (new recording)
  2. Who Are They? (new recording)
  3. Falling Into The Sun (rehearsal)
  4. Falling Into The Sun (live)
  5. In The Shade (live)

Almost entirely pre-flute-and-keyboards epics, Th’ Eternal Wedding Band is the rocking older brother of Doom and Armoury Of God, and spreads before the listener 13 aspects of death in an original variety of inspired lyrics and musical concepts. This will be a one-time limited edition pressing of only 200 pieces in honor of the 10th anniversary of this landmark release which will be a split release between Roxx Records and Quam Libet Records, with 50% remaining in the United States and 50% being distributed in Europe.

Pÿlon’s sixth album, Homo Homini Lupus, was released in 2014 also on Roxx Records. The effort saw Nomad Son’s Jordan Cutajar handling lead vocals and contained Pÿlon’s most metal material to date as well as a one-of-a-kind cover version of Slayer’s “South Of Heaven” on which the bass duties were handled by Stryper’s Tim Gaines. Pÿlon are currently recording their next album release, A Lament, to be released on Roxx Records later in 2016.

For full details on this release and other Roxx Records happenings please visit us at